Science fun!

Today is orientation for Science.  All these orientation classes have been a waste of time, but a way for the various teachers to introduce themselves to their students.   They have all taken 30 minutes, give or take a few minutes.

Science starts at 9 a.m.  The teacher talks so much, that my daughter couldn’t talk in class, since only 1 person can talk at a time.  So my daughter had to type her intro, and was skipped over for the most part.  The teacher even gave her own intro.  I could just imagine all the kids rolling their eyes as she went on and on… like me typing on my blog!

Science is one of my daughter’s favorite subjects.  I don’t think this may be the case this year.  The class is going for far too long for an orientation.  It’s redundant.  Do you really care about the teacher’s hyphenated name or her dog’s name?  She gave an intro at the beginning of orientation – why do it again, and longer, 5 minutes later?

Forty five minutes later and my daughter was given the escape route – “If you have nothing to say and no questions, you can leave.”  *PLONK*  At least she typed good bye first!

Why are kids bored in school?   It doesn’t matter if it’s a brick and mortar school, or an online school.  You can only capture their attention for so long before you lose them.  I bet if I asked my daughter how the orientation went, it’s going to be entirely negative.

I have to say, just like my opinion changed about the math teacher (so far!), my opinion of the digital art teacher is improving as well.  He sent the kids a message yesterday that was full of enthusiasm and reminded them about orientation tomorrow.  Today he sent out another message to the kids asking how they’re doing, and to let them know if they had any questions, he was there, ask away.  All teachers should have that sort of attitude.  Enthusiasm makes a big difference.  If you’re a boring teacher, you’re going to have bored students.  Kids will learn more if you’re enthusiastic.  This is goes for parents who homeschool as well.  Perk it up!

Boy can things change in a day, or what?!?! I have access to seeing what the kid should be working on, or should have finished and submitted via an online checklist for each class.  Well these wonderful teachers have orientation classes listed at 6 a.m. or 9 p.m. and 3 times a week.  Perhaps they are the ones who should have to take an orientation class as well!

We’ve also discovered that there’s a bunch of assignments that can’t be done because there’s no link or explanation of what needs to be done.  It’s on the checklist though.  So the kid emailed a few of the teachers to ask, because I feel that if they get paid to do their job, they should get annoyed over this shit as much as I do.  I wish I could be a laid back parent who doesn’t give a shit… but then my kid would still be in some shitty public school, and still wouldn’t be able to read or write.  Teachers are supposed to respond within 24 hours, but we still haven’t heard back from the LA teacher, who was emailed yesterday.  Then we discovered that one contact doesn’t even have a correct school email addy posted for herself!

I think this mess requires a nap!  I don’t drink.  I don’t do drugs.  I don’t smoke cigarettes.  My remaining bad habit is my potty mouth, and it has dropped enough bombs for one day!  Plus I’ve got the night off from cooking.  The kid wanted to cook, but is cooking tomorrow instead.  We’re having leftover eggplant parmigiana that I froze a few weeks back… we love eggplant!

Now to go freeze the abundance of chocolate mousse that my young chef in training made from scratch yesterday… I can’t see throwing it out and neither of us really want to eat all that the recipe made.

Mousse anyone?

Chocolate Mousse

Aside

Leave a Reply

